IEST Online Blog

PRESS RELEASE: New IEST Executive Board Introduced at ESTECH 2017


For Immediate release

For further information, contact Christine Davis, 847-981-0100



New IEST Executive Board Introduced at ESTECH 2017

Schaumburg, IL (July 26, 2017) —The Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology (IEST) introduced its new Executive Board officers, whose terms became effective on July 1, 2017. Board members were recognized at ESTECH 2017, the leading conference for professionals in three distinct fields: Controlled Environments/Cleanrooms, Environmental Testing and Product Reliability, and Nanotechnology Facilities, from the podium during the Awards and Membership Luncheon at the Hyatt Regency Louisville in Louisville, Kentucky, by Immediate Past President Wei Sun.

Ahmad Soueid, Principal and Senior Vice President at HDR Architecture, Inc.,  moved into the office of IEST President, while Wei Sun, President at Engsysco stepped down after his productive year in the role to continue his service in the office of Immediate Past President.

Soueid brings more than 30 years of industry leadership and experience to his new role. He is a registered architect in over 15 jurisdictions in the US and abroad and serves as a global leader to advance science, technology, higher education, health, civic and justice programs. He is a published author and frequent speaker at global conferences, recognized as an expert in designing technologically complex and sustainable buildings that advance science and health, improving the quality of life.

During his tenure serving on the IEST Executive Board, Soueid helped advance the IEST mission through his many positive contributions such as leading the development of the current long term strategic plan for the IEST while he also chaired IEST’s first nanotechnology working group. Soueid brings this same intensity and vision to his new role and comments, “I am honored to help lead IEST, the leading global resource for the contamination control, environmental testing and product reliability, and nanotechnology fields as we continue to provide our members with technical guidance through international standards, recommended practices and education to further improve our industry and the world around us.”

New IEST President-Elect, Gordon Ely, Manager of Regulatory Affairs at MiMedx Group, Inc., moved into this new role after serving as the Technical Vice President (CC). Ely has been a long-serving member of the IEST Executive Board and chair of several contamination control working groups.

New to the Executive Board, Jonathan Cloud, Equipment Maintenance Manager at Varex Imaging, moved into the Technical Vice President (CC) role previously held by Ely. Cloud is a long-time member of IEST and participant in numerous working groups.

The Executive Board welcomed Angela McKay, CAE, who began serving as IEST Executive Director effective July 1, 2017. McKay brings to this position a wealth of association experience and a new vitality to the role and organization.

Officers remaining in their position: Kevin Stultz of UniClean Cleanroom Services as Fiscal Vice President; Morgan Polen of Microrite as Membership Vice President; David Sgro of FLIR Systems as Technical Vice President of the Design, Test, and Evaluation and Product Reliability Division (DTE/PR); Jennifer Galvin of DuPont Protection Technologies as Education Vice President (CC); and Nick Clickinbeard of Rockwell Collins as Education Vice President (DTE/PR).

With gratitude for their productive service, IEST recognizes the following members who have left the Executive Board at the end of their terms: John Weaver, Consultant; Shawn Windley, Vice President of Sales, Foremarket at AAF Flanders; and Roberta Burrows, former IEST Executive Director after nearly 20 years of service will continue to serve IEST as a Technical Advisor.


IEST: Advancing Environmental Sciences through Education and Standards Development. The Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology is the leading technical, nonprofit membership association that connects professionals who deal with controlled environments. We provide technical guidance through International Standards, Recommended Practices, and education programs developed by experts in the fields of contamination control, environmental testing, and nanotechnology facilities. More. . .

IEST – Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology
1827 Walden Office Square, Suite 400, Schaumburg, Illinois 60173
Phone 847-981-0100 • Fax 847-981-4130 • E-mail